Calling All Readers! Your Help is Needed!

Image

If I could make a career out of making poorly produced images on my phone, I’d be a millionaire.

Five months ago when I started the Not So Book Club Book Club, I had quite a few goals in mind. First, I wanted to encourage people to read. I wanted people to find the time in their day to discover new stories because far too often I heard people say they were lucky if they read one book a year. Next, I wanted these books to inspire others to produce new art, or music, or poetry, and I wanted them to feel comfortable enough to share their work with others. And finally, I wanted to be able to confidently answer whenever I was asked “What was the last book you read?” and I wanted to be able to easily list off a ton of book recommendations to friends in search of new literature. (For a book lover, I had found myself far too often struggling to answer those two questions. However, since November, with almost 15 new books under my belt, I have conquered that obstacle.)

Although we have started to meet a few of these goals, there is still so much more to go.

Every week when I post on this blog, I know what I’m up against. I’m competing with busy personal and work schedules, gossip blogs, pop up ads, 24-hour news networks, Facebook statuses, television shows—you name it, I’m competing with it. Turns out, the attention of even an interested audience is hard to maintain.

So I was thinking, how can I get you all more involved?

I know there are many of you reading this. I see the stats on my wordpress account and I read all the lovely messages you send, but I’m still shy of reaching those initial goals. Now I’m turning to you for help. I want you to let me know what I could do to get you to participate more.

Should I base my book selection off of NSBCBC member recommendations? Should I post discussion questions on the Facebook page? Should I post pictures more? Should I toss up some original art? What would you like to see and what could I do to interest you in participating?

I have this vision that one day, the NSBCBC will be thriving, completely filled to the brim with discussions, quotes, original art work, or interesting internet-found pictures, all put there by fellow members. What can we do together to help realize this dream?

Share your recommendations right here on the wordpress, post on our Facebook wall (facebook.com/nsbcbc), tweet me at @notsobookclub, or Instagram your recommendations using the #nsbcbc hashtag.

I sincerely look forward to hearing from you all! Let’s make this Not So Book Club a real community experience!

Your NSBCBC founder,

Nina Sclafani

One thought on “Calling All Readers! Your Help is Needed!

  1. Ok, I have comedy recommendations. Interestingly enough, the following two recommendations that I have are books published by bloggers turned authors!!! The first quasi-autobiographical/hilarious book is Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson (aka The Blogess). I cry a lot when I’m reading a great story but this one had me crying of laughter. John kicked me out of the apt for laughing too loud and the patrons of Starbucks were none too pleased by my presence. This is not a story you can relate to in any way and that’s what I love!!! My second recommendation is based on a blog that you love to hate: White Girl Problems by Babe Walker. Babe lives with the one percent. She’s neurotic, hateful, bitchy, spoiled, and hilarious. Again, a reader should not identify with Babe. Instead, just bask in the ridiculousness that is Babe telling you all about the events leading up to her stint at The Cirque lodge rehabilitation center after a breakdown during a shopping spree at Barney’s (spoiler alert: it was the shop assistant that called Cirque). These recommendations are definitely light-reading. It takes about two days to read each. I only have so much time to read bc of work so these are the kinds of escapes I prefer. Something just for me….

Leave a Reply

