December’s Reads

December’s Reads: Why These Books?

Image
After highly enjoying all three of the November reads, I felt a lot of pressure to deliver three books that would give me as much enjoyment for the month of December. Now, I know it’s impossible to do that (also because something I love, you may not love. The magic of books is that we all can have an opinion about the books and each opinion is valid!) So for December, I tried to add a little variety to the NSBCBC book list. I think (I hope) that these will do the trick.

1. “Rob Delaney: Mother. WIfe. Sister. Human. Warrior. Falcon. Yardstick. Turban. Cabbage.” – by Rob Delaney. Let’s call this a comedy memoir. A few years back I fell madly in love with comedic memoirs. I devoured both Russell Brand’s “Booky Wook” 1 and 2, Sarah Silverman’s “The Bed Wetter,” Tina Fey’s “Bossypants,” and Mindy Kaling’s “Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?” I was an addict. Each of these writers had a way of letting the reader in on their lives, even the most dramatic parts, while still allowing the reader to smile and laugh throughout. When I saw that Rob Delaney (easily the funniest man on Twitter. He’s even won Comedy Central award with that title.) had written a book, I knew I had to read it. I had seen him do standup at Caroline’s in NYC, and had laughed at his ridiculously absurd tweets for over a year, so I thought this one would be a winner. He’s a man who has lived a life of addiction, struggle, and intense joy and he saturates his stories with humor and sarcasm. It’s also not a bad idea to check out his twitter to see if you would enjoy his comedy prior to picking up the book. Find him at @robdelaney on Twitter. It’s ridiculous and absolutely hilarious.

2. “An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth” – Col. Chris Hadfield. A few months back, I had heard via reddit.com about an astronaut who was making youtube videos about his experience on the international space station. There was a video of this man performing “Space Oddity” (found here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KaOC9danxNo) and even more videos of him performing mundane tasks but showing how different it would be performing those tasks in space. Then one day I turned on NPR and there he was being interviewed by Terry Gross! As I listened to his descriptions of viewing Earth from space, and seeing the Northern Lights as he orbited around our planet, I was almost brought to tears. He was able to paint such a vivid picture of something that I will never personally be able to experience in my life, but through his words I felt as though I was there. I thought if he could achieve that speaking freely in an interview, I bet he’s a helluva writer. And so his book made the list. Listen to his interview with Terry here:http://www.npr.org/2013/10/30/241830872/astronaut-chris-hadfield-brings-lessons-from-space-down-to-earth

3. “And the Mountains Echoed” – Khaled Hosseini This was an easy pick because I am such a tremendous fan of “The Kite Runner” and “A Thousand Splendid Suns.” Hosseini’s books are so eyeopening and beautifully written. However, if this is anything like the other two, grab a box of tissues. His ability to make the reader feel compassion and empathy for these characters is incredible. I have carried his previous works in my heart for many years, and am more than prepared to make room for his latest.

Feel free to post your thoughts/pictures/videos/blog posts about any of the books we have read or are currently reading on the NSBCBC Facebook wall, Tweet us at @Notsobookclub, and Instagram your experience using the #nsbcbc hashtag!

If you have any books you’d like to recommend for January, feel free to reach out!

Happy reading everyone!

– Nina

Leave a Reply

